Rajneeti, Kites and the first time I saw 3-D

Rajneeti

I believe movies are made for 2 purposes: Either to tell a story or for entertainment purposes.. any movie made with other intentions generally turn out to be poor movies. I think Rajneeti was made for the purpose of making a movie about politics.

They thought, let’s make a movie about politics and what better story concerning politics than Mahabharat. But I guess Mahabharat wasn’t meaty enough, so they decided to sprinkle a little Godfather in the mix, cuz Arjuna is a little like Michael, isn’t he? A little uncomfortable with the family business.

And that’s all that Rajneeti remains, an exercise of mixing  Mahabharat with Godfather. While Godfather takes its time to show how Michael changed, our Arjuna here seems to make this transition flat within 20 minutes which is not very convincing.

Character development is sacrificed because the whole Mahabharat had to be included in the movie and therefore all it remains is twist after twist.. Chess is a patient game about slowly cornering your opponent, which Rajneeti strives to become, but fails utterly due to length constraints. The guessing game of what the next twist, or death or dhoka-dhadi will be, was far more fun for me than watching the movie itself. The Godfather references were staring me in the face and I couldn’t ignore them enough to focus on what the movie was trying to show me, or maybe this one just wasn’t interesting enough.

The acting is solid, be it Nana Patekar or Ranbir Kapoor, who both kept me planted in my seat long enough to witness the climax. Katrina is not as bad as they say and Arjun has already proven that he can act when he wants to. Manoj Bajpai is ok, but all I kept thinking was that maybe Irfan Khan would’ve been better. Ajay Devgan is the same as in any Prakash Jha movie.

Coming to a close, let’s just say that the movie is a one time watch. But, maybe it would’ve been better as a TV show.

Shrek Forever After[3-D]

I saw my first 3D movie this week. Yes, I wanted to watch Avatar but I couldn’t so I took what I could. Let me say that I felt all sorts of weird standing alone among a sea of kids outside the audi. So how was it?

It was cool, and that’s all it was. It was really distracting too, cuz I couldn’t get over how I was watching a 3D movie 😛 . But it was cool, and I totally support the 3D train of movies, if they are made in 3D and not converted that is.

Anyway, the movie was good enough for a kids movie. It wasn’t Shrek 2, but it wasn’t Shrek 3 either.. The animation was good, the story was good enough, we were chuckling even if not laughing heartily. Eddie Murphy was goood and so was Antonio Banderas as puss in the boots. The actor who voiced Rumpelstiltskin was really good and the characters of the witches were interesting. I had fun watching it, but after one point I was just looking at the clock waiting for it to end, which is not a good sign for a 93 minute long movie.

Also, the Hanna Montana loving 10 year olds sitting beside me, cooing like toys at all the right places didn’t help my nerves. So, overall, an ok experience.

Kites


Yep, I saw Kites too.. now that the shock has subsided, let me just say that it’s not that bad. I mean sure when you compare it to movies from all over the world, but in the realm of B-wood, I can say that it was one of the better ones I’ve seen ..I mean at the very least, I wasn’t bored..Now that I’ve got your attention, let me explain…

Let’s face it, Bollywood movies have always been about escapism. Sure, logic is creeping into movies nowadays, but was 3 idiots really all that logical? So, firstly, let’s leave logic aside while we are talking about Kites.

See, Kites starts wonderfully like any Hollywood action-rom/com. Hritikh is a likeable young man doing what he can to survive in the US of A and he finally has a shot at the jackpot with Kangana. And he does not miss. I was reminded of Woody Allen’s “Match Point” here, but not too much. And just when everything was going according to plan, he falls in love. That’s where I really got into the movie.. cuz falling in love, at least to me, is exactly what they’ve captured here in the small moments between Hritikh and Barbara. One of the scenes I liked most was when Hritikh hits Tony.. cuz who can bear to look silently, when someone’s beating the person you love? And then they realize what’s just happened and they have no choice but to run away.

See, it’s after this, that the writer seemed to have little idea where to take the story. And it’s here that the intentions change from telling an entertaining story to making the big bucks, which is never good for any movie.

And I do believe that the intention of the writer, at least when he started to write Kites, was to tell a story, not a very complex one, but at least an entertaining one.

Anyway, what makes Kites ultimately watchable is Hritikh and Barbara Mori. That guy knows how to act along with all the other things he does. I hope he gets some better projects.

I don’t care what the other critics said, but I could feel the love they were trying to portray and I desperately wanted their characters to have a happy ending.. which I believe is an achievement in itself for any movie, to make the audience root for their characters. Sure, the movie is full of cliche`s from best friend dying to save the lovers to the pj about shitting in the pants. Sure, in the end they just wanted to create another Romeo-Juliet which seemed unnecessary and forced, but up until the final 10 minutes or so, the movie had me hooked. And that’s all that mattered to me.

P.S. I am writing after a long time, so I apologize for the poor quality of prose and grammar. I just wanted to write something and this is what I managed. Criticism is always welcomed.

Author: Jas A.

I think my picture describes me the best, a 21 yr old loner. Computer is my life and I used to be very good in studies, I mean very good, but I've been declining since 9th grade and lost interest. I have one passion in life "Movies", but I can't pursue direction cuz its not stable, and I love money, so I've decided to become a software engineer. Well, that's me, what about you?

4 thoughts on “Rajneeti, Kites and the first time I saw 3-D”

  1. Haven’t seen any of these.
    Wanna see Shrek (havent seen any of the Shrek movies till date :D)
    May/may not see Rajneeti (am not for serious movies…esp political dramas)
    Will DEFINITELY NOT see Kites. Hate HR 😀

Leave a Reply

