10 shows which make TV still watchable………………II

Yes, back to the list. So I was talking about how the TV is filled with daily soaps and reality shows on every channel. Reality shows are just a method of earning money by gathering votes. But, it was a real mystery why women liked daily soaps, despite them being away from reality. But, I found an answer a few days ago that the women actually see their own figure in the “heroines” of these shows. They try to identify with them, and think what would they do in such a situation. They want to be a rebel or a sacrificing lady like whoever Tulsi and others. Anyway back to the list:

6. Scrubs – Do you think hospitals and medical training is funny? It certainly is in this alternate universe. Scrubs really does seem to be in another universe. It’s a story of doctors, janitors, assistants, friends, relationships, and much much more. It presents the problems and tensions of doctors and employees in such a funny way, that you can’t help but crack into a laugh. It’s a sugar coated lesson in life. You can catch it everyday at 9:30 pm on Star World. Here’s a link.

scrubs_468

7. The Simpsons – Who doesn’t know about the Simpsons? Even after 2 decades of it’s running, the episodes are still as original and as funny as hell. The style of The Simpsons is just so absurd and funny, that you can’t help loving this show. The story revolves around Homer and his family in Springfield. I don’t know what it is about this show that makes people love it, but we just do. Bringing a fresh episode everyday, it is an excellent entertainer, airing everyday at 6 pm on Star World. Here’s a link.

simpsons-the-couch-4100447

8. Sun Yaar Chill Maar – Ahh, after so many English shows, here’s another show that has qualified for my top ten list. It is one of the most original and most entertaining shows I’ve seen being churned out from the Indian TV channels. The story revolves around 6 college friends in Delhi, and their daily problems. You never get bored with the vulgar style of Omi like “Uska toh ghanna lamba hai……..[pause], kadd”, neither do you get bored of the yos by piddi. I think it is a true representation of Indian Youth(in a funny way), offering characters of every kind. You can catch it Monday-Thursday at 10:30 pm on Bindass. Here’s a link.

B00000001

9. The Looney Toons and Tom & Jerry – Another evergreen show. Whenever nothing worthwhile is being shown on the TV, this show often comes to my rescue. I never get bored of an episode no matter how many times I have seen it before. The characters are all colourful, and I think you’ll really like it, no matter whether you are a kid or an adult. Tom and Jerry is another such cartoon, which never gets old. I don’t know the exact timings of these shows, but Looney Toons airs on POGO and Tom & Jerry on Cartoon Network. Here’s a link.

LooneyTunesWallpaper800

10. Discovery Channel, History Channel ‘n’ Nat Geo – Yes, I know the name doesn’t have the name of a show. But, my list seemed incomplete without the mention of these channels. I don’t watch any particular shows on these channels, but most of the time, happen to catch something that grabs my interest. They are great channels and I don’t think they are boring or nerdy. Rather, they help us understand Science, History and Cultures in a fun way.

I also loved these shows till they got canceled and I got tired of watching the re-runs. But they deserve a special mention. They are Khichdi, Sarabhai vs. Sarabhai, Suite Life of Zach and Cody, Aliens in America, Lizzie McGuire and That’s so Raven.

Ok, I don’t know how this works, but I tag whoever wants to do a post about their favourite TV shows, including you Ish (from Dead End), Balu (from CHUPchap) and Amit (from mashed musings).

Author: Jas A.

I think my picture describes me the best, a 21 yr old loner. Computer is my life and I used to be very good in studies, I mean very good, but I've been declining since 9th grade and lost interest. I have one passion in life "Movies", but I can't pursue direction cuz its not stable, and I love money, so I've decided to become a software engineer. Well, that's me, what about you?

20 thoughts on “10 shows which make TV still watchable………………II”

  1. Will do that once I get around to writing my next post. I don’t think I actually watch 10 shows now. But yeah, I had favorites when I was a kid..as in Shaktimaan and stuff which I can’t even think of watching now.

  2. The Simpsons Rock! Lol, seriously though, Homer is my hero, since I’m apt to have a few ‘Do’h!’ moments myself.

    And the DIsney Channel shows, lol, it’s disturbing that a 21 year old likes it but I refuse to grow up.

    Here’s some suggestions of shows I like, try them out if you haven’t already. Veronica Mars, Two and Half Men, How I met Your Mother and Desperate Housewives, lol, I know these have a girly touch to them but they’re fun.

    I doubt this comes on any channel, but the old Nanny series was one of my favourites. Totally worth it to buy the DVD.

  3. @tigger
    Yeah, homer is totally funny, tell me something about ur do’h moments, i bet they’ll be hilarious

    Hey, its not disturbing, many people like disney channel, i’m 15 and i like it, is that disturbing? it’s something people judge u over and do themselves, like when u tell a friend, he’ll say, what r u a kid?, but he also watches the suite life, and just doesn’t have the balls to accept it

    Yeah, i’ve watched and liked Two and a half men, and how i met ur mother, but they’re not my top 10……i tried to watch desperate housewives, but found it boring….i’ll look into veronica mars and the nanny , though…….

    Edit: hey i looked ’em up, do they air in india? cuz i couldn’t find out

  4. I have 2 questions for you;

    1) How did you come across my blog?

    2) Do I know you?

    Anyway I simply love the simpsons, I can’t get enough of them. Have you seen their movie? You know soaps are okay with me, after all life does require some drama but the thing is that most soaps have a terrible, terrible story line and the background music is damn annoying. I wonder how people can watch such soaps?

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll.

  5. Lol, my Do’h moments are more blondeness-related (I’m not blonde, but I act like it), except that yesterday I did such a stupid thing, I still blush when I think about it. And it wasn’t even funny, it was just sad.

    I was speaking to one of my friends who I hadn’t spoken to in a few days and he was telling me about his grandmother, who had been quite ill. Now she’s much better but the way he was phrasing it, like “she’s been relieved of her pain and her condition” made me think that the situation was more morbid. And like an idiot I ask him if his grandmother passed away. And nope, she hadn’t. -cringe, cringe- I wanted to die, lol. So that wasn’t a Do’h moment, it was just a symptom of my foot-in-mouth disease, lol.

    Lol, well, luckily for me, most of my friends like it too. Well, girl friends do, guy friends like Cartoon network. What is it with guys and anime? Pokemon and Drangonballz and Yu-gi-Oh are really crap shows, lol.

    Hmm, since I’m not Indian, I don’t know what’s happening on TV there. SuperComedy shows old nanny episodes, last time I checked, if you have that there.

    Oh, and my all-time fav blast-from-the-past kids show. Sabrina the Teenage Witch! Lol

  6. @anuj
    1. I just founf ur blog, i don’t remember how, I just like it.

    2. No, we don’t know each other, but i guess we are acquaintances, after these comments.

    Yeah, i have seen the movie, it was damn fun. I can’t bear soaps either. Hey don’t mention it, just keep writing good stuff.

    @tigger
    Hey, i thought u were indian, then how come u know hindi and, well, write about bollywood. do u mean u r like an NRI or not indian at all.
    Your do’h moment is pretty funny, or well, lets say embarrassing for u.
    Yeah, guys do like animation. Well I don’t like Dragonball and Yu-gi-oh either, but i liked pokemon.

  7. I guess so too, anyway, you liked it! Wow, that’s new, I thought that it was a piece of crap that people saw and basically didn’t read, what did you like in it?

    @tigger: You can always die your hair blonde….

    Wait, guys aren’t necessarily crazy over animation, pokemon was cute but I was never addicted or truly liked any of the anime shows, I guess it depends.

  8. @ Perx

    My Indian-ness is complicated, lol. When I have to fill out forms, then under race I’m Indian. If you call me an Indian though, I’ll be pissed off. I just know Urdu/Hindi and like Indian movies but I won’t go into details on my ethnicity, lol.

    @ Anuj

    Thanks for the idea but I would look absolutely terrible with blonde hair, lol. So I’ll stick with my black hair and people can be surprised when I act a bit silly.

  9. @anuj
    seems like u don’t remember me man, i am the one u had that cyborg and data downloading discussion with……… its a good blog, don’t underestimate urself

    @tigger
    As u say, but if u don’t mind me asking, why are u pissed off when someone calls u indian?

  10. Lol, sorry Perx, only later I realised I sounded quite rude.

    I don’t hate Indians, not at all, lol (btw, why did you remove that part of the Q from your post? I saw it there this morning but I didn’t have a chance to reply). Have you seen how gaga I am over Shahid Kapoor? 😉

    But which self-respecting Pakistani is ok being called an Indian? lol. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I am proud to be a Paki and the thing that annoys me is that someone realises that I’m from the subcotinent but automatically assume I’m Indian.

  11. @Tigger
    Well, i deleted it cuz it seemed insensitive…… i realized that later

    Yeah, i guess people never stop judging you…….. they just assume something about you and think u would perfectly understand if they are wrong………..

  12. I have lost touch with TV now but I liked Star world most (after Discovery n NatGeo ofcourse) with shows like everybody loves raymond, friends, Seinfeld, Ghost whisperer etc etc

Leave a Reply

