I hate shopping for clothes…….

Yes, I hate it, I simply hate it, for the basic fact that I’m fat, a condition which many people call “healthy” in India like my mother, my sister-in-law(i hope thats what we call bhabhi) and many others, even some of my friends. I remind them again and again that healthy is being fit, and the thing is called being fat or obese.

Anyway back to the point, I hate shopping for clothes, my parents have to drag me to the shop(not literally), and I shop just once at the start of every season. I hate it because I’m totally embarrassed. I know that I should accept it and I do, but it’s just embarrassing to ask for over sized clothe, which have to be altered in length for you, and even more embarrassing to stand there in the trial room, and pulling up a pair of jeans which just won’t go higher and then walking out with those overtight jeans and ur mother asks you, “Kamar se tight to nahi hai?”(“Is it tight at your waist?”) I mean you’re there like totally red trying to hold your breath to flatten your stomach a little bit, and this bomb drops on you in front of the salesman and you are thinking, “wtf, I can manage if it is tight or not, why’d u have to ask me?”. But you say that it’s tight and the salesman picks out a bigger waist jeans for you, which is OK at the waist, but longer than you need. And then you try out t-shirts, which are equally embarrassing if they don’t fit. Finally when you are sitting in the back of your car, your parents are like giving you advice when you don’t need it. I have plans, I’m just too lazy to get off my ass.

I have written this, because I had to go through all this today, again. But no matter, I have a new plan and I’m gonna work on it from tomorrow.

Author: Jas A.

I think my picture describes me the best, a 21 yr old loner. Computer is my life and I used to be very good in studies, I mean very good, but I've been declining since 9th grade and lost interest. I have one passion in life "Movies", but I can't pursue direction cuz its not stable, and I love money, so I've decided to become a software engineer. Well, that's me, what about you?

15 thoughts on “I hate shopping for clothes…….”

  1. Good Luck with your plan. First time I visited your blog. It’s very cool that you’re being yourself instead of acting like your stereotypical “cool” teenager.

    Lol, and that’s why I love Shalwaar Kameez. Custom-made and will not remind you of the extra pounds I put on over the holidays.

    I hate shopping for shoes…big feet :-S Lol.

    Take care

  2. Ah, same here. I used to hate shopping for clothes. See, I’m extremely short and thin, so I always have to get the length of the jeans and sometimes even the waist altered. And then my dad would insist trying everything on before buying it(which I know realize was a very good thing). But it’s fine now, I’ve learned to not give a damn about it. It is embarrassing when you have to go to the women section to find jeans that match your waist but you get used to it in the end. Can’t keep hating yourself and not buying clothes, can you? It’s best to find places where you can get things your size.

    Good luck with your plan though, whatever it is.

  3. @wanderer7
    I’m right there with u dude

    @tigger
    Yeah, i know the internet is the only the place where we can be ourselves and not worry about whether he/she likes me or not…u know we don’t need to please people here….
    Also ur blog is very cool, I specially like ur satirical comments

    @ish
    really, u had to look in the girl’s section?
    hey, look who’s laughing, me, mr. fatmunch.
    Well, i guess we slowly get used to it, and I have, but shopping for clothes is just something i’d never like………

  4. clothes is something i never really cared about. i just throw on something comfortable and too bad if people think its hideous, you know? i have a problem with overweight too and i’m also just as lazy [and proud of it!]

    the good part is i never really had to buy clothes. People just get me clothes – like its my birthday i get clothes from everywhere for gifts, its diwali, clothes, its dusshera, clothes, its navratri, clothes, its Christmas, clothes again hehe !!

    But that has its own negative sometimes they fit sometimes they dont and i have to wear em whether i like em or not! πŸ˜›

    A really interestin entry, that!

  5. @priya
    but the one above you, Tremlanquer, is also a gal…….haha

    @meha
    Yeah, but my relatives tell me to come with them even when they buy me clothes on my birthday……which could go more embarrassing than with mom……I prefer to get shoes or watches

  6. I like shopping of all kinds – Clothes, books, vcds, dvds, shoes, chocolates. No wonder my bank account is empty in 15 days after I get my salary. 😐

  7. @meha
    yeah, i love shopping for those too…………..never get tired

    @amit
    Yeah i know, my sister is like that too, but i’m way too economic or “kanjoos” to do that

  8. Yep, when I went to this Levi’s showroom about a year back, the guy had to bring jeans from the women’s section because they didn’t have one in the guys section with a waist 26. :/

    But I’ve grown fatter since then, thankfully.

  9. Pata nahi, family genes hain. Dad is also thin and all. Par abhi itna junk food kha khaakar pet nikalne laga hai. Time to start exercising but I’m too lazy.

  10. Just be yourself! And good luck with your plans πŸ˜‰
    I’m also trying to stick to mine. Only, it busted b4 it began πŸ˜€
    I wanted to join swimming…but they stopped coaching! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

