Race – A Review

So, I went to watch the new movie Race today, starring Saif Ali Khan, Katrina Kaif, Bipasha Basu, and Akshaye Khanna. The biggest plus point of Race was it’s script and it’s twists and turns. But, it is also it’s weakest point.

race.jpg

The film begins wonderfully and keeps you glued to your seat trying to think what will happen next. There are many twists and turns in the first half. The basic story is about two brothers who try to outdo each other and the girls just get tangled in their rivalry. As good as the first half was, the second half goes up and then down and further down and down. There are just so many twists that we get bored of them and want the movie to end.

The acting by Saif is superb, Akshaye is also very good. Bipasha is OK, but our Kat needs some acting lessons. I have always noticed that she is mostly in a movie only to look pretty which she does well, but she must learn some good acting. Her dialogue delivery isn’t good, but expressions are good. Anil Kapoor is good as always and never goes out of the skin of his character, with Sameera being there just to look stupid, which she does well. Their Karamchand-Kitty act keeps going on and extracts some laughs out of us, which is not made dominant on the thrill and action at any point. It’s very difficult to keep a balance and I think that Abbas-Mustan have done it very well.

The music isn’t so great. I just like the title song and the “sexy lady” song. At some points, the song seems to be well in it’s place, but at some points, it just slows the pace of the film. The background music is also good, as heart thumping as it was required to be.

It is a good movie, but could be a great movie. It’s at least worth one watch, cuz its a typical Abbas-Mustan film, and a good time pass+entertainer for 2 and a half hours.

Overall Rating: 6.5/10…worth a watch in the theatre on a weekend.

Author: Jas A.

I think my picture describes me the best, a 21 yr old loner. Computer is my life and I used to be very good in studies, I mean very good, but I've been declining since 9th grade and lost interest. I have one passion in life "Movies", but I can't pursue direction cuz its not stable, and I love money, so I've decided to become a software engineer. Well, that's me, what about you?

8 thoughts on “Race – A Review”

Leave a Reply

